Changing your title tags to often

I’ve searched some on the web, and cannot find much information about the affects of changing your title tags too often, and when is too much.  Over the past couple of months one of my primary sites ranked very well on Google, and then my web hosting company had some issues where my account was suspended for two days.  During this apparent suspension the title tags for some of the websites I manage changed to Site has been suspended“.  Google did index this new temporary site suspended title, then of course after two days my titles changed back.   Please note I had just changed my title tags a few weeks before, but before that it had probably been over a year.  When my title tags were again indexed correctly on Google, my site had slipped from the first page for some of the most importantly targeted keywords to “no where to be found” on google.  I know there are many factors to receiving good Google PR, but this coincidence has me in fear…Any thoughts, advice??  If I’ve been marked down for these unintentional frequent changes, how long do you think it will take to get the red flag removed..if ever?

8 responses to “Changing your title tags to often

  1. The Google does not work in a way that when you once got yourself to the first page then you should stay there forever.
    Sure, the Title tags are important part of SEO, so is the page content, incoming links, anchor texts, etc.
    Also talking about Google banning or setting red flags to your site is absurd. Better change you site frequently and improve your rank by getting more relevant sites to link to you.

  2. Thanks for the input Veikoh. While I agree with most of what you have said, I completely disagree with this statement: “Google banning or setting red flags to your site is absurd.” While this “may not” be the case in my situation, Google does ban and remove sites from their index.

  3. Just following up on this. Did the same google search myself and came across your blog. There’s not much out there about frequency of title tag changes. What have you seen since this blog post? Any changes to the primary site you mentioned?

  4. Hi there,
    I am having a problem with my “content page title” in my header template I have mysitename. However I do not know how to get it to also show the content page title aswel (example if i was searching my site for a second hand boat, I would like it to come up in the title tag as “website name | Second hand boat”).

    Hope you understand what I am on about cos im well confused with it all

    Jason

  5. Are you using a Content Management System, and if so, which one?

  6. I’d like to see an answer to this question as well. I’d like to change the name of my blog (www.softwareinvent.com/wordpress) to something more generic.

  7. Is there a correct answer for this? I also want to know if it really hurts google rankings when you change the title tags

Leave a Reply

